Review, Swatches & Dupes: By Terry Tint to Lip Water Color Lipstain in Beach Game

It’s Thursday. That means I don’t want to do anything except watch all of the Shonda Rhimes shows while cross-stitching a Latin motto in Baskerville onto some “antique white” Aida cloth. In a second I’m going to do just that. I mean, I’ve finished my work for tomorrow, cooked myself a food item, and even banged out a really terrible abstract for a conference paper– that last one’s only a triumph because it’s not due till December. If anyone knows how to write an abstract for a paper that doesn’t exist yet, plz help. Auxiliary Beauty? Sylirael? Imagine me swaying you with a compelling, puppyish sad face.

Anyway, I’m interrupting a brief stream of drugstore lip stain reviews to bring you a high-end option. By Terry’s Tint to Lip Water Color Lipstain promises a “tattoo hold” for a “tinted pout that won’t feel weighed down”, at least according to its Beauty.com page. The bit of virtual real estate it occupies on Space NK, on the other hand, emphasizes its sheerness– and inclusion of “anti-oxidant Cherry water and plumping Acerola active ingredients”, whatever that means. I’m not a chemist– I just may be mistaken for one based on racial stereotypes. I chose the shade called Beach Game, even though I feel at best kinda “meh” towards beaches in real life– sand, sun, scantily clad strangers, etc. It’s a luminous orange enlivened by gold shimmer, but its sheerness makes it (almost disappointingly) wearable.

packaging

Availability: $36 from Beauty.com or Space NK

Quantity: 0.23 fl oz

Despite its demure transparency, Beach Game is an undeniably playful color, so I chose to wear it with the tangerine-striped Luella for Target blazer– an eBay find– that always makes me feel like a stylized circus ringmaster. The color’s sheer, but I wouldn’t call it subtle– the lively alchemical glitter makes it a bit of a statement lip.

The way you achieve that pearl-encrusted finish on the lips is kind of fun. See, the base liquid itself is clear– the color and consistency of flat orange soda. But there’s a layer of white-gold powder that sediments along the side of the tube. You give the whole thing a shake, and the white and orange swirl together, in brief snowglobe turmoil. And you’ve got your shimmery finish.

I assume the sheerness of the shade is not a bug but a feature. Still, I can’t help regretting it a little bit. I keep trying to layer the stuff to opacity, which leads to some unevenness, and a bit of unsightly clumping around the corners of my mouth. Still, the texture’s decent. I do find it to be lightly drying– more so, I think, if you pack it on as stubbornly as I do– but it’s transfer-proof, as promised. It’s got a light, bittersweet taste that reminds me of an abstracted amaretto, and a cough syrup fragrance  that doesn’t quite match.

Beach Game on my face

Beach Game on my face

closeup

Beach Game Lip Swatch

Beach Game Lip Swatch

dupes

Comparisons and dupes (L-R): Beach Game, Nyx Nyx, OCC Grandma.

I was surprised I had any viable dupes in my stash, since my go-to orange-range hue, the classic MAC Lady Danger, is a lot deeper. But Nyx Nyx— not a typo, a legitimate reduplicative!– is actually a pretty close match, right down to the pearl finish. It’s just more opaque, and a little deeper. OCC Grandma, despite being branded a “classic coral”, is similar tonally. But it’s significantly darker, and also matte.

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Urban Decay Naked3 in Limit, Trick, and Blackheart, Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes in 23L, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil in Black Market, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, Make Up For Ever 5 Camouflage Cream Palette in No.2, Benefit Rockateur, Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light and Incandescent Light from the Ambient Lighting Palette 

2 thoughts on “Review, Swatches & Dupes: By Terry Tint to Lip Water Color Lipstain in Beach Game

  1. I need to take up cross-stitching again! I finished my first big project (a Jenny Holzer “truism”) last year, and I miss working on it. Which Latin motto are you embroidering?

    As for the conference abstract, much of grad school (and academia in general) involves writing descriptions of projects you haven’t completed or even started yet. It’s awful. I just sent off a fellowship application that asked me to describe the argument of my not-even-half-finished dissertation in about three different ways. I wish I could give you solid advice, but I think it’s just one of those skills that will improve with time. The main thing is to remember that everyone else applying to this conference (or fellowship or whatever) is facing the same problem, so it’s not like you’re uniquely ignorant about your own work.

    Also, THAT BLAZER. <3_<3

    Like

    • I’m teaching for a team-taught lecture with both a Chinaist and the Romanist; for the Chinaist, I cross-stitched a quote from a Han historian that says, “Embroidery is not as good as lounging seductively in the marketplace.” (I think I disagree. :P) So for the Romanist I am doing, “Felicior Augusto, melior Traiano” except, like, bigger to compensate for the paucity of wordz.

      All of which is more fun than writing an abstract! Why is this so hard? It’s like 300 words. That’s like a half to a fourth of a blog entry. >.<

      Like

Leave a Reply

