FOTD: Radical Haircut Edition

headon

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance in Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, theBalm Pressed Eyeshadow in in Stand-offish, Selfish, and Sophisticated from the NUDE ‘tide Eyeshadow Palette, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil in Black Market, Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Broken Doll, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus,  Make Up For Ever 5 Camouflage Cream Palette in No. 2, Nyx Powder Blush in Bourgeois Pig, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light and Incandescent Light from the Ambient Lighting Palette, Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder, Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

Lips: Nyx Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Pandora layered over Illamasqua Matte Lipstick in Atomic

thirdquarters

sideish

My hairstyle’s switched genres, from feudal fantasy to futuristic dystopia– I’ve finally chopped off those hip-length Rapunzel locks! So this FOTD is totally just pretext for showing off my new Sci-Fi Bob Haircut. (I really think I need some metallic sheath dresses to go with it, or maybe a Jaegar.)

I got it done in Japantown, by a lovely lilac-haired stylist to whom I spoke about fifteen seconds of my subpar Japanese. Because I have dim memories of sporting a very poofy pageboy in elementary school, I opted to get some thermal straightening done in addition to the cut. I wasn’t allowed to wet my hair for two days afterwards. You see here my kickass professional blowout on its last legs, something like 40 hours in.

Alas, I’ve since washed it away. And now the ends of my hair keep flipping out, albeit sort of demurely.It’s not an entirely bad look, but it’s not what I’m going for– a little too mod, rather than space operatic bureaucrat. I might have to invest in a flatiron or a round brush– so much for short hair cutting down on styling time!

Anyway, the makeup look here is fairly straightforward– I wore it to lead section, and then to a friend’s birthday dinner, so it was pretty fuss-free but reasonably versatile. I reached for my trusty teaching palette, theBalm’s Nude ‘Tude, applying Stand-offish to the inner two-thirds of the lid, Selfish to the contour area, and Sophisticated to the outer third. The blush is my latest Nyx acquisition, the delightfully named Bourgeois Pig. FYI, it’s super pigmented and wearable– my new go-to pink. Do I not look as rosy as the hides of well-fed capitalist swine?

It amused me to try to match my lipstick to my dress– a secondhand DvF sllk “coat”, by the way, that I scored from The Real Real. (I hear that’s a stylistic faux pas, but whatever. I’m generally pretty okay with matchy-matchy looks.) I applied Atomic first– so glad I had the chance to grab it from Sephora before Illamasqua decided to forsake this blighted continent! It was too pink. So I added a swipe of Pandora, which has a iridescence that added an appropriately silky depth. Perfect.

4 thoughts on “FOTD: Radical Haircut Edition

  1. YOU LOOK SO GREAT. I was wondering if your Radical Haircut Pinterest board would produce a real-life Radical Haircut, and I’m so glad it has! That’s roughly the length to which I’m trying to grow out my own hair, but mine is too wavy ever to assume Sci-Fi Bob sleekness. (At the moment it’s approximating Soccer Mom Bob.) Also, screw anyone who says you can’t match your lipstick to your clothes. Head-to-toe magenta is always appropriate.

    Like

    • 😀 Thank you! I’m tempted to go even shorter in a few months. But I have to admit, the time+money I spend on styling my hair is apparently inversely proportionate to its length.

      Like

Leave a Reply

