Review, Swatches & FOTD: LORAC Mint Edition Collection

I snagged this retro-inspired value pack during a LORAC event on Hautelook. I mean, a) it was cheap, b) I needed more one-and-done palettes with eye and cheek products– for, you know, travel and stuff and c) I’ve got a fondness for all things vaguely vintage that feels somewhat perverse and at times #problematic. Whatever. The flash sale’s since expired, and it looks like Ulta’s sold out. But you can still get this bundle for about 58.33% off on the LORAC website! Supposedly that’s part of the brand’s VIP sale, which I believe has been going on since roughly the Tokugawa. But a deal’s a deal!

Silver and Mint Wristlet Bag, Eye/Cheek Palette, and Lips With Benefits Gloss in Christian

Silver and Mint Wristlet Bag, Eye/Cheek Palette, and Lips With Benefits Gloss in Christian

Availability: $15 on LORAC

Quantity: 0.25 oz of eyeshadow, 0.11 oz of blush and 0.19 fl oz of lip gloss According to the website, the whole kit’s got a $120 value. That comprises, apparently, an Eye/Cheek Palette with six eyeshadows– three matte, three shimmer– and a blush, a full-size lipgloss, and a little wristlet for storing your unguents and powders. Overall, I’d say this is a great value, and I’m definitely thinking about bringing it along with me the next time I secure the funds to travel. But if you want it to push it to optimum performance, you’ll have to work for it a little. The bag’s design is not to my taste, personally– a chain-mail exterior, with Jansporty mint showing through. The lining’s finished with bias tape that’s beginning for fray, secured to the seams with these loose, unruly stitches. The whole aesthetic is a very Claire’s (which, you know, I frequented joyously enough in my mallrat days). But as a home sewist, I have to roll my eyes at that finishing job. To fair, though, it’s reasonably capacious, accommodating both palette and gloss. And it’s got an inner pocket for, I don’t know, samples or lip balm or something. Luckily, I’m happier with the color cosmetics!

The Mint Edition Eye/Cheek Palette

The Mint Edition Eye/Cheek Palette

The palette's contents: three matte shadows in the top row, three shimmer shadows in the bottom, and a blush.

The palette’s contents: three matte shadows in the top row, three shimmer shadows in the bottom, and a blush.

I can’t help but be vexed that the shades in this palette don’t have names– so many squandered opportunities for horrendous, yet satisfying, puns! In the top row, there are three matte shades: a cream that applies off-white; a neutral, biscuit-colored tan; and the signature shade– a mint green that leans robin’s egg. The second row of shadows are slightly frosty, shot through with microshimmer: a pale and pearly lilac-taupe; a soft, neutral plum; and a rich, warm purple somewhere between amethyst and eggplant. The palette also contains a blush, a frosty pinky peach with pale gold microshimmer. I found that the shimmery shadows were significantly more pigmented than the matte; the former were more-or-less opaque in one swipe, but the latter had to be coaxed into it, and it was a little hard to get them to apply in even layers. (The blush, being shimmery, performed about as well as the shimmer shadows.) In general, the texture– especially for the mattes– tended toward powdery.

Swatched over bare skin (L-R): three matte shadows, three shimmery shadows, one blush, one lipgloss.

Swatched over bare skin (L-R): three matte shadows, three shimmery shadows, one blush, one lipgloss.

Even if the execution was a little lackluster, I thought this palette had a lot of potential– it’s a useful combination of workhorse neutrals and playful statement shades. And the beautifully complex purple shimmer was a standout for me. Basically, I was determined to redeem it from doldrums of mediocrity. Ever hopeful, I reached for Nyx Milk. And hey, Eureka moment! Layered over the matte white, even the finicky matte shadows behaved properly, and the wallflowerish mint shade really popped.

Swatched over Nyx  Milk (L-R): three matte shadows, three shimmery shadows.

Swatched over Nyx Milk (L-R): three matte shadows, three shimmery shadows. Don’t mind the apparent double image– my eyeshadows weren’t applied completely coterminously with my Milk.

The lipgloss was a much more unreserved success for me. The warm, bubblegum-pink shade is called– quite opaquely to me– Christian, and it’s exclusive to this Mint Edition set. But it belongs to the Lips With Benefits range, and therefore purportedly boasts a “hydrating formula” with “antioxidants of Acai Berry, Pomegranate Extract, and Vitamins C and E”. The formula isn’t particularly tacky, and it doesn’t sink into my lip lines egregiously. I also like the fact that Christian, at least, imparts color as well as luster. It’s not as opaque as a liquid lipstick, but the pigmentation’s definitely respectable. Worn alone, it’s a demure gateway to Schiaparelliesque shocking pink; layered over a heavyweight lipstick, it can really make an impact.

Christian in the tube

Christian in the tube

Christian lip swatch

Christian lip swatch

Finally, here’s a quick FOTD putting the Mint Edition collection through its paces! I was going for a retro cliche-storm look, slightly flattened and cartoonish– pulled out my Hell Bunny dress and everything. headon semiprofile eyescloseup After priming my lids with the Urban Decay Primer Potion, I applied Nyx Milk over the whole surface of my eyelids and also used it to brighten my waterline. Next, I dusted the mint green eyeshadow all over the lid, applied the mid-tone plum shimmer under the browbone, and added a swipe of the matte tan direction above that. I also dusted a little of the matte off-white in the inner corner. Didn’t get to use the lilac taupe or, to my infinite sorrow, the purple. But hey, thanks to Milk, the mint looks great! For once, I applied Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara to both my top and bottom lashes– courting that doe-eyed Twiggy look. In keeping with the pursuit of retro cliche, I did a fairly sedate cat eye with Urban Decay Perversion.

The blush, of course, is the peachy pink shimmer in the palette. And Christian is layered over Urban Decay Obsession— a rather cool-toned baby pink, but the closest shade I had in my lipstick stash. As you can see, Christian managed to warm it up.

Eyes: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion Tube, Too Faced Brow Envy,  Urban Decay Ink for Eyes in Perversion, Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara, LORAC Mint Edition Eye/Cheek Palette

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, LORAC Mint Edition Eye/Cheek Palette, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light from the Ambient Lighting Palette, Smashbox Photo Set Pressed Powder in Light

Lips: Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in Obsessed, LORAC Lips With Benefits Lip Gloss in Christian

6 thoughts on “Review, Swatches & FOTD: LORAC Mint Edition Collection

  1. I’m glad that you were able to make the shades work with the NYX jumbo pencil. When you use Milk, do you wear another primer under it? I ended up tossing all of my NYX jumbo pencils from a couple years ago, because I was never able to prevent it from creasing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

