Review, Swatches & Dupes: All of the Tilt/Shift Lipslicks!

I actually took all these photos more than a week ago, but school happened, and also I decided to make pop fanmixes for Confucius and Nero instead of processing them. (Next I’m gonna do Liu Bang slash Gaozu, founder of the Western Han– it’s technically related to me Area of Study, so.) Good thing I took notes so I know what’s what! I have better study habits for beauty blogging than for actual study…. Here I’ve got a set of lip products from Tilt/Shift Cosmetics, indie purveyor of celestially named cosmetics. They’ve got a collection of planetary loose pigments in gorgeous duochromes, but I opted instead for the Lipslicks. These are matte in finish, wax-based, and packaged in a little pot if you order the full size, so you’ll have to grab a lip brush if you want to take advantage of the “medium to full coverage”. They’ve got a medicinal mint smell, redolent of dental hygiene. The texture’s slightly stiff but, as the website notes, they tend to “melt on the lips when used”. I don’t find them particularly drying, which is nice I took advantage of a packaged deal called, appropriately enough, the Big Bang, so I was able to get samples of all eight shades for $10.80. The trade-off’s in the packaging– these came in little plastic baggies, and there was barely enough room to maneuver my brush for application. I did experience a little streakiness and resistance with these, and every color took multiple coats to reach opacity. I suspect I would have had an easier time of it with the full-size jars.

armswatch

(L-R): Chaos, Zenith, Gravity, Supernova, Equinox, Nebula, Solstice, Aurora

Availability: $6.50 for a full size or $1.50 for a sample size from Tilt/Shift Cosmetics

Quantity: 0.15 oz for a full size

Special Deals: Get a Big Bang package with all eight shades in full-size jars for $44.20 or in sample baggies for $10.80 Overall, this is a wearable and well-rounded collection with everything from the sanguine to the nude, but it’s more dupable than not– only the most unique shades, the pastel purple Chaos and the plum-purple Zenith, had no doppelgängers in my stash. Admittedly, though, a lot of my dupes come from pricier brands, so Tilt/Shift might be a good option if you’re looking for a budget alternative for some wishlisted shade. I’m not sure the performance was stellar enough for me to want to repurchase, although I’ll happily use up these samples. And now, swatches!

Chaos lip swatch

Chaos lip swatch

Chaos on my face

Chaos on my face

Chaos comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Chaos, Nyx Lavender, Fyrinnae Less Than Three, Nyx Castle. Second row is just Chaos, for comparison's sake.

Chaos comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Chaos, Nyx Lavender, Fyrinnae Less Than Three, Nyx Castle. Second row is just Chaos, for comparison.

Chaos is described as an “out-of-this-world pastel lilac”. It looks baby pink in the photos above, but it’s purpler in life. It’s not quite blue enough to be a lilac or a lavender. I’d call it a pale purple, maybe even a very cool-toned pink– very vintage Nicki Minaj. It’s certainly far pinker than Nyx Lavender, though less so than Fyrinnae Less Than Three. In addition to being matte where Nyx Castle is shimmery, it’s paler and brighter, without the dirty plum undertones. As you can see, I’ve basically struck out in terms of true dupes. This shade is easily the most singular in the range, but it doesn’t play particularly well with my yellow-toned complexion. But I can see it being gorgeous on paler or darker skin with neutral-to-cool leanings.

Zenith lip swatch

Zenith lip swatch

Zenith on my face

Zenith on my face

Zenith comparison... and dupe. (L-R): Zenith, Hoochie

Zenith comparison… and dupe. (L-R): Zenith, OCC Hoochie

Tilt/Shift calls Zenith a “bright, royal purple”. On me, it looks distinctly muted– a slightly warm-toned plum-purple with slight pink undertones. It looks quite a bit paler than it does on the website. I actually like this quite a bit, something about the artificiality of the color, the faint intimation of sci-fi. I compared it with OCC Hoochie, the only remotely close color in my stash. It’s warmer, plummier, and quite a bit paler.

Gravity lip swatch

Gravity lip swatch

Gravity on the face

Gravity on the face

Gravity comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Gravity, Fyrinnae Winter Romance, Urban Decay Shame, MAC Dare You

Gravity comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Gravity, Fyrinnae Winter Romance, Urban Decay Shame, MAC Dare You. The second row is just Gravity, for comparison.

Gravity, a “deep, blood red” is the shade I had the most performance issues with, on the surface. It’s a deep red with purplish undertones, which I liked. It does tend towards streakiness, and it only approaches opacity with patience. But in retrospect, it’s definitely possible to construe this bug as a feature. See, I was hoping for vampiric berry in a single swipe, but the color’s actually very buildable. So you have the option of wearing it as anything from a subtle stain to a deep burgundy. I compared it to the other vampy reds in my arsenal, and found it somehow gives an impression of being more genteel and, say, work-appropriate– less femme fatale. Your Mileage May Vary on that. But I honestly find it conveys a lot of auctoritas, and I’d maybe wear it when I teach. Gravity is less brown that Fyrinnae Winter Romance, cooler-toned and not as glossy as Urban Decay Shame. It’s far darker and purpler than MAC Dare You.

Supernova lip swatch

Supernova lip swatch

supernovaface

Supernova comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R):  Supernova, Eve Pearl Amaretto, Stila Treasure, OCC Authentic

Supernova comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Supernova, Eve Pearl Amaretto, Stila Treasure, OCC Authentic. The second row is just Supernova, for comparison.

Here’s Supernova, a “metallic nude peach with pink sheen and a golden undertone”. It’s a relatively dark rose gold, or a pinked copper. I was expecting this to be utterly undupable, but I’ve actually got a few consanguineous colors in my stash. It’s darker and pinker than Eve Pearl Amaretto, but paler and less brown than Stila Treasure. It’s less orange than OCC Authentic. This is actually one of my favorites– I think the rosiness makes it stand out among other copper-coin shades. But I’m not sure it’s sufficiently different from the other metallic peaches in my collection to make a full-size purchase worthwhile. equinoxlipswatch

Equinox on the face

Equinox on the face

Equinox comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Equinox, OCC Memento, Nyx Watermelon

Equinox comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Equinox, OCC Memento, Nyx Watermelon. Second row is just Equinox, for comparison.

This “warm-toned medium nude” is Equinox. I’d call it a slightly dirty salmon pink– it’s on the assertive side of YLBB, with a vaguely vintage feel. It’s not exactly a wallflowerish shade– slightly too bold to be paired with a bombshell smokey eye under the traditional schema, I’d say. But it’s not remotely unconventional. OCC Memento is similar, just slightly lighter and maybe a touch more pink. Nyx Watermelon is paler, less orange, and frosted instead of matte.

Nebula lip swatch

Nebula lip swatch

Nebula on the face

Nebula on the face

Nebula comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Nebula, OCC Queen, Fyrinnae Glamorous Rebel, Stila Beso, NARS Baroque. Second row is just Nebula, for comparison.

Nebula comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Nebula, OCC , Fyrinnae Glamorous Rebel, Stila Beso, NARS Baroque. Second row is just Nebula, for comparison.

Tilt/Shift calls Nebula a “bright, fresh, warm coral/pink color”. I actually don’t know that I see a lot of pink here– I’d call it a red-toned coral that reminds me of watermelon Jolly Ranchers. It’s a beautiful color– a glamorous, yet playful, take on red– but I’ve got to stop buying these variations on a theme of coral. It’s incredibly similar to OCC Queen at full opacity. It’s warmer-toned than Fyrinnae Glamorous Rebel, but otherwise quite akin to it as well. Stila Beso is darker, richer in hue, and slightly more orange-toned. NARS Baroque is cooler, more muted, and glossy instead of matte.

Solstice lip swatch

Solstice lip swatch

solsticeface

Solstice comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Solstice, MAC Girl About Town, Clinique Roomiest Rose, OCC Anime, Fyrinnae Sexy Nerd. Second row is just Solstice, for comparison.

Solstice comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Solstice, MAC , Clinique Roomiest Rose, OCC Anime, Fyrinnae Sexy Nerd. Second row is just Solstice, for comparison.

Here’s Solstice, purportedly a “bright, highlighter pink”. In my experience, highlighters tend to be cooler-toned and genuinely neon– I’d call this a warm, rosy pink, somehow evocative of taffy. It’s a pretty, wearable basic, just bold enough to be the centerpiece of a look. But I think I’d wear this with teal eyeshadow, unashamedly. MAC Girl About Town and OCC Anime are both darker, brighter, and more tilted toward magenta, although Anime is more similar to Solstice. Clinique Roomiest Rose is darker and slightly redder in tone. Fyrinnae Sexy Nerd has very prominent gold shimmer, but the base color is actually quite similar.

Aurora lip swatch

Aurora lip swatch

auroraface

Aurora comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Aurora, Urban Decay Obsessed, Lancome Candy. Second row is just Aurora, for comparison.

Aurora comparisons and dupes. First row (L-R): Aurora, Urban Decay , Lancome Candy. Second row is just Aurora, for comparison.

Finally, here’s Aurora! Tilt/Shift styles it an “explosion of cool-toned hot pink colour”, which strikes me as slightly dramatic– I’d call it a neutral-to-cool bubblegum hue, not pastel like what’s typically called “baby pink”. It’s darker than Urban Decay Obsessed, to which it’s otherwise pretty similar. It’s cooler than Lancome Candy, and matte instead of shimmery.

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in in Diamond Eyes and Soot & Stars from the Cold Chemistry Collection Palette, TheBalm Shadow/Blush in CabanaBoy, Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Broken Doll, Make Up For Ever Aqua Liner in 10, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, TheBalm Shadow/Blush in CabanaBoy, Smashbox Photo Set Pressed Powder in Light, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light and Incandescent Light from the Ambient Lighting Palette 

8 thoughts on “Review, Swatches & Dupes: All of the Tilt/Shift Lipslicks!

    • I feel like they’re generally at a price point that makes me feel reasonably virtuous about buying all the colors! Haha, I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks in terms of teaching colors. 😀

      Like

      • There are five professors at my university who specialize in early modern English literature, and all of them are male. My dissertation committee is a trio of middle-aged men. Anyone I’d potentially work with outside my department is also a middle-aged man. The academic establishment, ladies and gentlemen! As a result, I’m always reluctant to wear anything too bold or flashy to meet with one of my advisors, for fear of coming off as less “serious” than I am. I’m one of the only grad students in my department to wear noticeable makeup at all, so I feel like I already stick out enough, you know? All this is to say that I usually confine myself to understated mauve or berry colors for prof meetings. Two of my favorites are Revlon Shine lipstick in Plum Velour (which I’m going to review for my next post) and Revlon Matte Balm in Sultry. It’s a shame it has to be this way, but so it is…

        Like

Leave a Reply

