Sale Alert! Nyx at Ulta

Nyx products are going for 40% off this week at Ulta! Technically the sale also includes Revlon, Physicians Formula, and Almay. I’m sure they all have very decent products– pretty sure I owned some Almay Wake Up Liquid Makeup during early undergrad that I pretty much liked? But Nyx is my favorite drugstore brand– very possibly in the running for my favorite anything brand for makeup. So I’m going to fixate on the goddess of night, and her entourage of mythologically named lipsticks. The sale ends next Saturday, September 4.

Sale prices doing include Nyx Kits over $14.99, but there are plenty of other goodies you can pick up, including the widely touted Butter Lipsticks and the neon and pastel Macaron Lippies for those more adventurously inclined. (I’ve had middling luck with smooth coverage when it comes to Earl Grey and Lavender— but the cost of entry’s so low now I might experiment with a couple other colors anyway.)

My picks are below. But first I wanted to show you this– the most perfectly named powder blush of all time. I think I may need this because I’m supposed to give my undergrads a Very Brief Intro to Marx tomorrow. Too bad it wouldn’t arrive in time for the hour of my need.

Nyx Powder Blush in "Bourgeois Pig".

Nyx Powder Blush in “Bourgeois Pig”.


Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 5.37.41 PM

I love these Round Case Lipsticks, or Extra Creamy Round Lipsticks, or whatever they’re called– there’s a bit of a nomenclature discrepancy between Ulta and the Nyx website. I own more of these than I do lipsticks from any other range, even MAC, and not all of them were chosen on the basis of cool mythological names! (I do think it’s weird that they use both Greek and Roman names, but that’s whatever– kind of just makes me want to read Percy Jackson.) I’ve used a couple in my FOTDs, if you want to see them in action. Some of my favorites are Chic Red (a dupe for Urban Decay 69, one of my best beloved reds), Cocoa, and the ugly-beautiful Castle.

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 5.45.58 PM

I’m a big fan of cream everything, which I’ve pontificated on before. This Cream Blush is no exception. I own Red Cheeks, and it’s one of my favorite blushes to travel with because you can just slip it into your makeup kit and smear it on without a brush. It is, appropriately, creamy, pigmented, and comfortable to wear, although I like to set if with a powder or it fades kind of fast. The shade range tends toward pretty, wearable neutrals, although there’s a Hot Pink of pretty respectable temperature. I just wish they had a purple….

Screen Shot 2014-09-28 at 5.50.19 PM

These cute, chubby Jumbo Eye Pencils work as both a shadow and a liner. Of course I own Milk, which beauty bloggers have been rhapsodizing about forever– I like to use it to brighten the waterline when I want a very stark, stylized matte instead of a softer shimmer, and it also makes a good base for chalky powder shadows that need to be coaxed into given decent color payoff.

Obviously I’m going to pick up a few things, including Bourgeois Pig (although to be honest, I don’t really need another neutralish powder blush, I just need a blush named Bourgeois Pig!). And probably also the Butter Lipstick in Licorice— can’t believe I haven’t tried that formula yet!

4 thoughts on “Sale Alert! Nyx at Ulta

  1. Nooo, why did you let me know about this? I’ve been holding off on buying several NYX and Revlon products, but now…well. I need a replacement for the Revlon Lip Butter in Red Velvet, which I lost last winter, and I’ve been wanting to try the NYX Macaron Lippie (I can’t believe I just typed that phrase, shudder) in Lavender, and I like all the frosty/shimmery Round Lipsticks you’ve featured on your blog…Damn it.

    Like

    • I exist to corrupt, bahaha. I’m going to try to hold off until the beginning of November, when I get my next stipend check though. Purely as a symbolic gesturing at self-restraint.

      Like

      • I got my stipend check TODAY, so there was no way I could resist. I managed to exceed the free-shipping minimum by a mere $.74, which made me inordinately proud. And I ordered Castle! It will come in handy for my Effie Trinket Halloween costume…

        Like

      • I demand pictures of this Effie costume once it’s done.

        Hahaha, my favorite brain teaser is reconfiguring the contents of a virtual shopping cart to get as close to the free-shipping minimum as possible.

        Like

Leave a Reply

