Review, Swatches & Dupes: Darling Girl Soft Focus Blush in The Magic Lamp

I’ve had an unusually unproductive week (and I feel like my ground state is pretty unproductive anyway)– highlights included a cocktail, a head cold, and two extremely long, extremely dense statutes from the Gracchan age. But what better way to bounce back than with some indie blush?

I’ve already reviewed a couple of purple powders— they’re rapidly becoming one of my things. This third one, Darling Girl’s The Magic Lamp, is from the brand’s Soft Focus range, meant to “blend into skin with no visible texture”, with a finish “somewhere between a matte and a satin”. Darling Girl describes it as a “mid-tone lavender with reddish undertones”.

opencontainer

Availability: $5.90 for a full size or $2.50 for a petit from Darling Girl Cosmetics

darlinggirllabel

backlabel

Like Darling Girl’s other cheek products, The Magic Lamp comes in loose powder form. I’s quite pigmented, although I find that it blends out pretty easily– more so than Fyrinnae Royalty. It’s a pale, neutral lilac with the look of candied pastel. It reminds me a little of Smarties, and the confectionary cast keeps it from looking too bruised when applied to the skin. There’s not a lot of discernible shimmer when you wear it, but the finish also doesn’t look cartoonishly one-dimensional.

Even though The Magic Lamp looks nothing like genuine shadow on the planes of the face, I prefer to wear it as a surrealist contour– under the cheekbones instead of on the apples of the cheeks. But I don’t think it’s too cool to work well as a conventional blush. Don’t get me wrong– it’s definitely not a conventional blush color. The purple definitely leans ethereal. But the pastel tone makes it less witchy than sweet. I can see it being relatively dramatic on pale skin though.

face

headon

semiprofile

(L-R) The Magic Lamp, Fyrinnae Royalty, Darling Girl Living Dead Gurl, BH Cosmetics Milky Way, BH Cosmetics Cosmic

(L-R) The Magic Lamp, Fyrinnae Royalty, Darling Girl Cosmetics Living Dead Gurl, BH Cosmetics Milky Way, BH Cosmetics Cosmic

Finally, I’ve got some comparisons with other pale purples in my stash. The Magic Lamp is paler and warmer than Fyrinnae Royalty— and hence a more accessible choice for those intimidated by the thought of purple cheekbones. However, it’s significantly purpler than my new favorite, Darling Girl Cosmetics Living Dead Gurl— and it’s far less sparkly besides. The last two swatches here are shimmery lavender eyeshadows from the BH Cosmetics Galaxy Chic Baked Eyeshadow Palette. Cosmic is the (marginally) cooler of the two, and even it is quite a bit warmer than The Magic Lamp. Both the eyeshadows also have a metallic, almost foiled finish, while The Magic Lamp is essentially matte.

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, TheBalm Nude ‘Tude Nude Eyeshadow Palette in Stand-offish, Serious, and Selfish, Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil in Woodstock, Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Broken Doll, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Korres Face Primer, Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, Smashbox Photo Set Pressed Powder in Light, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette in Dim Light and Incandescent Light

Lips: MAC Lip Pencil in Nightmoth, Nyx Simply Vamp Lip Cream in She Devil

4 thoughts on “Review, Swatches & Dupes: Darling Girl Soft Focus Blush in The Magic Lamp

  1. This looks like such a versatile shade that could be worn on both the eyes and cheeks. I haven’t had any forays into the world of loose pigments, but your posts have been really tempting me!

    PS: I’m really digging your lip color. I love unconventional shades.

    Like

    • Thanks! I tend to like dark, forbidding colors, which is a problem because I also like greasy food.

      Ah, I just checked, and apparently this pigment isn’t eye-safe! The color would make a really pretty shadow though.

      Like

      • Boo! That’s too bad it isn’t eye-safe, but good to know. Thanks for checking that out!

        I can’t eat or drink anything with dark lipstick on without getting it all over my surrounding skin. Maybe, one day, that’ll be a skill that I can master.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Shareable Sunday, Vol 2 | Blushable Me

Leave a Reply

