FOTD: Urban Fantasy

lookingdown2

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance in Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, theBalm Pressed Eyeshadow in in Snobby and Seductive from the NUDE ‘tide Eyeshadow Palette, Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Jilted and Urban from the Electric Pressed Pigment Palette, Urban Decay Ink for Eyes in Perversion, Tarina Tarantino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Broken Doll, Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in Oyster, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus,  Nyx Concealer Jar in Green, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, Nyx Powder Blush in Taupe, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light and Incandescent Light from the Ambient Lighting Palette, Smashbox Photo Set Pressed Powder in Light

Lips: Nyx Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Aphrodite

closed

lookingup2

Just a quick FOTD, as I prepare to teach Plutarch’s Life of Caesar tomorrow (in translation– I don’t even read Greek. #hamartia ). Basically I shrugged into this old Hogwarts t-shirt– the neckline I chopped up with kitchen scissors– and decided I wanted to look like an urban hedgewitch. Who maybe stole off to a squalid little flat in London after graduating Ravenclaw, to tend black herbs and practice arcane arts in smoky city solitude. Or something.

I also turned 24 recently. In keeping with the creed of #treatyoself– Parks and Rec’s Donna is kind of my hero– I ordered a bunch of Nyx products to mark the occasion. Quite a few of the mended up debuting here. I actually assembled this look around Aphrodite, a ghostly, silvered purple-taupe lip with an occult shimmer and a kind of witchy dignity.

I drew upon purples again for the eyes– warm grape Urban in the outer corners and magenta Jilted on the middle of the lid. For complementarity, I used the warm yellow shimmer Snobby on the inner third of the lid and added some depth to the contour area but smudging in a bit of the shimmery bronze Seductive. I tightlined with Perversion, just on the upper eyelid– I usually shy away from liquid liners, for ease-of-use reasons, but they are inarguably more subtle and precise than my beloved pencils, and here I wanted definition without any drama that would distract from my purples. I brightened the waterline with Broken Doll. I also smudged in a bit of Oyster on the outer two-thirds of the lower lid.

I used Taupe as a contour, applying it with a light touch to the hollows of my cheeks– it’s a great, shadowy cool-toned matte, almost idiot-proof for those purposes. I highlighted my cheekbones, Cupid’s bow, and the bridge of my nose with a bit of Incandescent Light, and I also swirled Dim Light all over as a finishing powder.

5 thoughts on “FOTD: Urban Fantasy

  1. I was reading back through your Nyx tag and realized I never mentioned how much I love this post. I love this post! Especially the bit about the Ravenclaw graduate. I’ll be the Slytherin burnout who lives downstairs and occasionally sets the building on fire when she forgets about the potions she’s left simmering on the stove. Cosmetic potions, of course…

    It occurs to me that I need both Aphrodite and a pink Hogwarts shirt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

