Sale Alert! TheBalm on Hautelook

Makeup and skincare from vintage-inspired beauty line theBalm is going for 50% off on Hautelook right now! They share my taste for corny puns– it’s amazing how many things sound like “balm” if you believe in yourself and try!). The vaguely utopic retro imagery also speaks to me. Basically I like them a lot.

Their shadyLady range isn’t available, nor is the newly released Balmsai palette. But you can get almost all their other goodies, including the cult hit Mary Lou-manizer highlighter. At least till Tuesday!

Screen Shot 2014-09-12 at 4.32.06 PM

My picks below!

cabanaboy_productshot_new_1

CabanaBoy Shadow/Blush

The “dusty rose” CabanaBoy Shadow/Blush is quickly becoming one of my go-to cheek products. It’s a neutral plum that goes on fairly pigmented with one swipe, even though you can blend it out well with a brush. I’m wearing it in this look. It’s going now for $10.50.

Nude 'Tude Eyeshadow Palette

NUDE ‘tude Eyeshadow Palette

NUDE ‘tude is my go-to teaching palette– lots of respectable neutrals, some with a little shimmer, all with a lot of gravitas. It’s work-appropriate without being frumpy, and the cheeky, sibilant and pin-uppy packaging make me feel like I’m keeping an amusing secret from my undergrads. The shades are warmer than their counterparts in Urban Decay’s famous Naked, but you might consider this a more wallet-friendly alternate to that much-lauded palette– they have the same kind of penumbra and air about them. The double-headed brush they give you is not my favorite– sort of painfully stiff. But the shadows themselves are very nice, if a little powdery. Christine from Temptalia has swatched them here. And she’s also given the whole palette an A. Christine is rarely wrong, so. You can get the palette for $18.

Balm Girl Lipsticks

Balm Girl Lipsticks

Disclaimer: I don’t own any of these. But Musings of a Muse’s eponymous Muse deems them long-wearing and rich in color. If I needed yet another bombshell red, I’d totally get Mia Moore. These are $8.50 a pop.

I ended up getting the Meet Matt(e) Eyeshadow Palette, the timeBalm Face Primer, and the Sexy Mama Translucent Powder.  I was supposed to tamp down on my spending till October because, you know, textbooks and summer travels and such. But I like to think I know a good deal when I see one. #fiscalprudence

2 thoughts on “Sale Alert! TheBalm on Hautelook

  1. I bought Nude ‘tude when theBalm was on sale on Hautelook two years ago! It was my first high-end eyeshadow purchase (sniff, nostalgia). I found much of the palette too warm for my complexion, but I still use the cooler colors–in fact, I used up Selfish long ago, and have been searching for a replacement ever since. I wish theBalm sold it as a single!

    One of the many great things about being ABD is that I no longer have to spend $$$ on coursebooks WOOO PARTY TIME.

    Like

    • Gahh, you are like a real person! I can’t wait to be ABD even though I deffo do not have the requisite discipline and would just watch Netflix all day in my onesie and a full face of unwarrantedly dramatic makeup. I’m also afraid I’ll fail quals hahahaha

      Like

Leave a Reply

