Review & Swatches: Fyrinnae Pressed Eyeshadow in Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions & Steampunk

I’m obsessed with indie pressed shadows– probably because they’re such a rare beast. Lots of tempting niche brands put out loose powder duochromes, like fairy dust. But I’m hard-pressed to find one that’ll cater to my prissy, princessy need for neatness and ease of use. Enter Fyrinnae!

I must not be the only powderphobe trolling the internet for quirky– yet hassle-free– pigments. Because Fyrinnae’s pressed shadows are perpetually sold out. This makes me very sad, yet ever hopeful– let’s call it a state of ardent waiting, as for the eschaton. There are, however, a handful are colors that are in stock right now. I grabbed three I thought might look cool together.

Wearing a look with Unicorn (inner corner), Rapunzel Had Extensions (middle of lid), and Steampunk (outer corner).

Wearing a look with Unicorn (inner corner), Rapunzel Had Extensions (middle of lid), and Steampunk (outer corner).

(L-R): Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions, and Steampunk, swatched over Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

(L-R): Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions, and Steampunk, swatched over Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

Price:

Quantity: 2 grams

You can get the shadows in refill-type pans, if you’re a devotee of Z-Palette and its ilk. Mine is on the way, so I opted for the slightly pricier compacts. These little black plastic rounds come with a clear cap, so you can see the color inside– that’s nice. What’s not so nice is the fact that my Steampunk popped out of its compact and sort of cracked. That could just be some anomalous flimsiness– I’ll wait and see how the other ones hold up to use.

Now for some quick notes about the formula! All three of my shadows were shimmery, in this dynamic way that looked almost alive. On each one, the whole bright surface reminded me of sparks jumping out of firelight– or, alternatively, the sparkly cartoon music that plays when an animated princess dashes clear water over, like, a patch of flowers or scatters a handful of fairy dust. Either each shadow contains multiple colors of microshimmer, or the shimmer itself is holographic. At any rate, I can see the little sparkles winking from pink to gold to green.

I will say that, applied with a brush, the color tended to slight patchiness– the pigment would kind of “clot” at some points, become hard to blend. You have to apply pressure for an even coating of color, and I feel like fingers would a little better for that. Or you could build the color up in layers, or wear it over a base like Nyx Milk (see below). Maybe you could also wear them wet? I haven’t tried that.

(L-R): Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions, and Steampunk, swatched over Nyx Milk

(L-R): Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions, and Steampunk, swatched over Nyx Milk

Anyway, here are the eyeshadows proper!

Unicorn in natural lighting

Unicorn in natural lighting

unicornlabel

Unicorn, shown with flash

Unicorn, shown with flash

Unicorn is described as an “iridescent transparent lavender… filled with multi-color sparkle”. If you look at the swatches above, you’ll see that it’s is a pale, pearly lavender– pinker than it looks in my pictures. In the pan, it’s an unambiguous, creamy white. Whatever. This one looks very pretty sheered out, but also builds up pretty easily. At full opacity, the pastel color looks vaguely mod– but the modness is undercut by its fey shimmer. In certain lighting conditions, it can look like a vaguely lilac-tinged off-white.

Between the paleness and the shimmer, I’m getting a very balletic vibe– think Tchaikovsky’s Sleeping Beauty. I think it’s pinked enough that it could work for both warm and cool skin tones. I’d especially recommend it for a Brown Eyed Girl. It also makes a pretty highlighter or blush, sheered out over the apples of the cheeks.

Rapunzel Had Extensions in natural lighting

Rapunzel Had Extensions in natural lighting

rapunzellabel

Rapunzel, shown with flash

Rapunzel, shown with flash

Here is the whimsically named Rapunzel Had Extensions, described by Fyrinnae as a “pale warm pink with a stunning brilliant light gold highlight”. I actually wouldn’t call it a pink at all– on my skin, it’s definitely an orange-to-peach duochrome. Despite its metallic finish, it reminds me of fruit preserves and summer orchards much more than copper or bronze. The color is pure, hyper-feminine cheer– probably my favorite out of the three I got. If you enjoy a super-shimmery highlighter, you could also smudge a bit onto your cheekbone. As an illuminator, I think it looks awesome from a distance; it gives an illusion of wetness, almost, like molten gold– you’ll look like a cyborg or a pagan idol. From up close, it does tend to emphasize pores.

Steampunk in natural lighting

Steampunk in natural lighting

steampunklabel

Steampunk, shown with flash

Steampunk, shown with flash

Finally, here’s Steampunk! It’s described as an “antiqued deep copper on black, with a touch of gold sparkle and hues of pink/plum”. Can’t say I wasn’t seduced by the nomenclature– it’s namesake is kind of like my perfect-world aesthetic. (One reason I’ve made one corset and own enough spiral bones and English coutil for about two more– I sometimes want to drop out of grad school and apprentice myself to a corsetiere. Ahem.) Ignore the shimmer and it looks, in the pan, like a fairly ignoble dark brown– rusted gears and Victorian morality. But on my skin, it reads as a warm amethyst. I like it for adding depth under the browbone and at the outer corners of my eyes.

Here are all three colors worn together! Unicorn and Rapunzel Had Extensions make kind of a funny pair, although in a cool, almost directly oppositional way that you could totally wear with audacity and intention. But Steampunk, with its brown base and purple shimmer, kind of ties them together.

Unicorn (inner corner), Rapunzel Had Extensions (Inner Lid), Steampunk (Outer Lid)

Unicorn (inner corner), Rapunzel Had Extensions (Inner Lid), Steampunk (Outer Lid)

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in MilkUrban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil in Riot, Bobbi Brown Everything Mascara

Face: Korres Face Primer, Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, Too Faced Absolutely Flawless Concealer in Vanilla Light, Benefit High Beam, TheBalm Shadow/Blush in CabanaBoy, Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand (read my review here!), Urban Decay De-Slick OIl-Control Makeup Setting Spray

Lips: Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick in Melted Berry, with Bite Beauty Cashmere Lip Cream in Bordeaux layered on top

5 thoughts on “Review & Swatches: Fyrinnae Pressed Eyeshadow in Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions & Steampunk

  1. You’re not the only powderphobe drawn to indie eyeshadows, by any means! I’ve cast a longing eye at Fyrinnae’s pressed shadows myself, but as you say, they’re almost always sold out (or Fyrinnae is on vacation, or…). I love the look you put together with these three; it reminds me of a purple iris. Also, you’ve made a corset?! Respect.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sale Alert! TheBalm on Hautelook | Through a Gloss, Darkly

Leave a Reply

