Fierce Magenta Review, Swatches & Dupes: Romance, Wild Plum, CosmoBerry, Rave & Medusa

The school year’s started, which means time for selfies, swatching, and mirror-gazing has sadly diminished– at least if I’m going to be virtuous about school stuff. But hey, I’ve already managed to miss the first two days of class. Like my advisor would say, that doesn’t exactly augur well.

I was in DC, having #reunion2014 with my undergrad BFFLs. I’m happy to report that Fyrinnae Queer Theory stayed on my lips throug a seven-mile bike ride on one of the capital trails. (I’m sure that’s not actually a lot of miles in, like, sporty-people land. But usually my only form of exercise is hauling around Endymion Wilkinson’s five-pound manual for Chinese history, and it was my first time on bike since before puberty!) I also managed to shepherd my friend through Sephora, twice! She let me put her purchases on my VIB account, and and my competence at evangelizing wrt makeup bumped me up to Rouge status.

Anyway, now I’m back, and ready to send off the summer with some indie swatches! I’ve got a five lip colors from Fierce Magenta, an undeservedly obscure Etsy vendor of striking duochrome glosses. 

(L-R): Romance, Wild Plum, Rave, CosmoBerry, and Medusa. Fierce Magenta's Etsy storefront in the background.

(L-R): Romance, Wild Plum, Rave, CosmoBerry, and Medusa. Fierce Magenta’s Etsy storefront in the background.

Availability: $7.49 for a sample-size or $9.69 for a full-size lipgloss; $7 for a sample-size or $9.50 for a full-size lipstick from Fierce Magenta

Quantity: 5 mL for a sample-size or 10 mL for a full-size lipgloss; lipstick quantities unspecified

Special Deals: Mix and match three full-size lip products for $24 or five sample sizes for $28

Despite this blog’s tastelessly punny name, I’m usually more of a matte or satin lip girl. But these colors looked gorgeous on the screen and very plausibly undupeable. I couldn’t resist, and I’m glad I didn’t. They’re comfortable, non-sticky– though I do tend to end up with little dots of brightness on my teeth– I’ve got to remember to check my mirror before going out, if I’m going to swipe some on my lips.

Fierce Magenta’s glosses are surprisingly versatile. They’re fairly pigmented. Although it takes some patient layering to build them up promotional swatch opacity, that does mean you have the option of wearing them sheered out to various degrees– YMMV. You can also blot them after applying several layers, for a demi-matte effect that eliminates the glassy shine while emphasizing the shimmer– I’ll demonstrate in my next post.

Perhaps the biggest draw– the striking duochrome. I find Fierce Magenta’s offerings more impressive than Inglot’s AMC Gloss in that respect. 

And now, the swatches!

Romance lip swatch

Romance lip swatch

 

Romance on my face. I look unwarrantedly smug, idk why.

Romance on my face. I look unwarrantedly smug, idk why.

 

Romance comparisons and dupes. The top row (L-R): Romance, NARS Orgasm (the blush)

Romance comparisons and dupes. The top row (L-R): Romance, NARS Orgasm (the blush), Fyrinnae Sexy Nerd, OCC Memento, Stila Treasure, Urban Decay Glinda. The bottom row is just Romance, for comparison.

Romance is described as a “holographic shimmery golden peach”. The base color is a warm, peachy pink-plum– pretty similar to my favorite Your Lips But Better staple, OCC Memento. But the prominent gold shimmer yellows and brightens the whole thing. Said shimmer is fine and very evenly distributed– it reads as a general glossiness instead of, say, a sheen of metal. You have to look closely to see the individual spots of brightness. Romance actually reminded me, at first sight, of NARS Orgasm. The gloss is darker and less plausibly “natural” in its aesthetic, more unashamedly dramatic, but they’ve got the same summery flush, and the rush of gold. Fyrinnae Sexy Nerd, which also has some pretty insistent golden shimmer, is similar in luminosity but significantly pinker.

 

Wild Plum lip swatch

Wild Plum lip swatch

 

Wild Plum on my face

Wild Plum on my face

 

Wild Plum Comparisons and Dupes (L-R): Wild Plum, Illamasqua Atomic, OCC Anime, Nyx Chloe, OCC Hoochie. The bottom row is just Wild Plum, for comparison.

Wild Plum Comparisons and Dupes (L-R): Wild Plum, Illamasqua Atomic, OCC Anime, Nyx Chloe, OCC Hoochie. The bottom row is just Wild Plum, for comparison.

Wild Plum was my favorite in this batch– I love it so much. It’s eye-catching, but still imminently wearable; it looks nice sheered out, but the duochrome really comes out with a couple of coats, and you feel like some sort of sci-fi siren. (Sorry, egregious sigmatism!) When I wear it, I can’t help staring at myself as I nod my head up and down, marking how the light shifts over the surface of my mouth– it’s got this hypnotic dimensionality. Fierce Magenta calls it a “holographic shimmery purple-blue”, but I’d say the base color is actually a saturated fuchsia with lavender-to-indigo interference– the shade is, overall, a species of Radiant Orchid. It’s purpler than Illamasqua Atomic and Nyx Chloe, two true fuchsias that share some of its iridescence. But it’s pinker and warmer than OCC Hoochie, a true purple.

CosmoBerry lip swatch

CosmoBerry lip swatch

CosmoBerry on my face

CosmoBerry on my face

Here’s CosmoBerry, a “dark brownish red” with “green shimmer and a glass effect”. No dupes here! I claimed in an earlier post that it was a ringer for Fyrinnae Winter Romance, minus texture. But after actually test-driving it, I take that back. The base color is a cozy ’90s brown. But the shimmer– which strikes me as a sky blue more than a green, really– complicates it significantly. The result is dramatic, even (space) operatic– but somehow it retains a little throwback wholesomeness. Like retro sci-fi. The so-called “glass effect” actually reminds me of saran wrap. Your lips look unnaturally full, the bottom weighed down by a glossy pout, and your whole mouth encased in something shiny with artifice.

Rave lip swatch

Rave lip swatch

 

Rave on my face

Rave on my face

In a fit of absentmindedness, I swatched the next two shades in my stash together, so I’ll get to comparisons further down. But anyway, this is Rave, a “holographic shimmery purple with blue”. The base shade is a magenta, but the periwinkle microshimmer makes the whole thing lean lavender. You can actually see some pretty dramatic color-shift, depending on the lighting conditions– it twinkles almost from pink to blue. Something about the shimmer makes it look more metallic in finish than the other glosses.

Medusa lip swatch

Medusa lip swatch

Medusa on my face

Medusa on my face

And here’s Medusa, a solid lipstick I snatched up while hauling all these glosses. Fierce Magenta claims it’s a “bright blue with purple undertone”. I’d argue, actually, that it’s more purple than blue– let’s call it a deep, brightened indigo. There’s no visible microshimmer, but the finish isn’t entirely matte; it does impart some dimensionality to the lips. Medusa had a creamy, workable texture, and it was lightly moisturizing to boot– it’s so comfortable to wear it almost feels like a balm. It’s quite richly pigmented, although I had to swipe for a bit to get truly even application.

Purple lip swatches (L-R): Rave,

Purple lip swatches (L-R): Rave, Fyrinnae Nemesis, Medusa, OCC Technopagan, OCC Rx. The second row is just Medusa, and the third row is just Rave.

I had trouble finding dupes for Rave— it pulls way pinker than any other purple in my collection. Medusa had a sibling shade in OCC Technopagan, which is shimmery, and it’s also kin to Fyrinnae Nemesis, which is warmer and more browned. OCC Rx is here as a sort of index shade– it’s a true blue, and you can see that Medusa‘s way purpler. 

 

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Sleek I-Divine Palette in Sunset, Make Up For Ever Aqua Liner in 10, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, Stila All Over Liquid Shimmer in Rose Gold, NARS Blush in Orgasm, Tarte Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder

7 thoughts on “Fierce Magenta Review, Swatches & Dupes: Romance, Wild Plum, CosmoBerry, Rave & Medusa

  1. Pingback: Fierce Magenta Redux, or DIY Liquid-to-Matte: Romance, Wild Plum, CosmoBerry & Rave | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  2. I just bought two glosses from this seller, and I’m kind of disappointed, to be honest. I bought Luna Blue, which I actually like, even though it looks way more clear than it does in the picture (I even did multiple layers), but the shine is nice. Like you said, these glosses aren’t sticky (and they smell nice), so that’s a plus. However, I do not like the Bloody Cherry gloss I got. I realize in the description it says it is semi-sheer, but I still expected it to come out looking somewhat like the picture. Even with multiple layers, it did not show up nearly as dark as the picture, and you can also hardly see any of the glitter. Not only that, but my biggest problem with that gloss is that the color does not go on evenly. It leaves streaks all over my lips, which looks ridiculous. I have tried everything to avoid the streaks. I tried putting more on, tried putting less on, tried blotting my lips, tried putting lipstick on underneath the gloss. Nothing really helps. The products you have on in your pictures look pretty nice, although I can see some slight streaks, but the color looks much more evened out than when I put the Bloody Cherry gloss on. At least I will get use out of my Luna Blue gloss I purchased though, so my money isn’t entirely wasted. I may end up purchasing more clear-type glosses similar to that one, but I think I’ll stay away from the darker shades.

    Like

    • Oh man, sorry to hear your experience wasn’t as good as mine! The tendency of lipglosses to streak is one reason I prefer solid lip colors, haha. Luna does look very cool!

      Like

      • Yeah, I wasn’t sure if I was doing something wrong since almost all of the reviews are 5 stars. I do like the Luna shades though and might try out more. I totally agree. I prefer lipsticks as well because they tend to go on more vibrant and last longer. I don’t wear lipgloss as much, though sometimes I do put a shade of lipstick on and then put clear gloss over top for shine.

        Since it seems you like bright colors, have you ever tried the Macaron Lippies from NYX? I think they’re pretty cool. They are quite similar to lime crime lipsticks, except half the price. I really like the Orange Blossom and Lavender shades.

        Like

      • I do love bright colors! I’ve got the Earl Grey Macaron (mostly for the name– I love tea lol). But it looks super weird on me– the color tends not to apply evenly towards the center of my lips, so I’ve always got this weird ombre going on. I usually wear it layered over a dark purple for a kind of mid-tone periwinkle. I really want to try the Lavender one though! I almost ordered it with my last Ulta haul, but then I decided not to. :/

        Like

Leave a Reply

