FOTD: Ours is the Fury

Nothing to do with House Baratheon, sorry!

Not the House Baratheon kind though, sorry!

Eyes: Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Love+, Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Slowburn from the Electric Pressed Pigment Palette, BH Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Saturn and Moon from the Galaxy Chic Baked Eyeshadow Palette, Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in MilkUrban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil in Desperation, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, Too Faced Absolutely Flawless Concealer in Vanilla Light, NARS Illuminator in Copacabana, NARS Blush in Orgasm, L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Powder in Cocoa as a contour powder, Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand (read my review here!)

Lips: MAC Lipstick in Fetish, OCC Lip Tar in Fragmented (read my review here!)

Book: Love and Transformation: An Ovid Reader by Richard A. LaFleur (I’m told he drives around in a car with vanity plates that say LATINA– a bit misleading, no?)

This one time during Latin nerd camp (which I highly recommend, btw, if you A) need to learn two years of Latin in 10 weeks or B) are an Early Modern Europeanist affiliated with Stanford History– basically all of those guys were there) we were reading Ovid. It was the Metamorphoses– the part where Orpheus pleas with the powers of the Underworld to revive his new bride Eurydice, freshly dead from snakebite. Our hero’s playing music, because that’s what he does. And the “story is that the cheeks of the Furies, conquered by song, became wet with tears” (l. 45-46). The Furies, of course, are those vengeful goddesses: Alecto (like the Death Eater), Tisyphone, and Megaera. They hang out around the dead, instilling uneasiness in such persons as pious Aeneas, Dante, and (in harpy form?) Lyra Belacqua. They’re scary– but apparently still sensitive enough that a harpist with a sob story can make one cry.

fullface

Going for “vengeful goddess who punishes the unrighteous”, with mixed success.

Anyway, at this point, our instructor stops. And he tells us about an ad he once saw, for a pro-domme who called herself Mistress Megaera– whips and all. This FOTD was vaguely inspired by her.

This look’s centerpiece is the MAC lipstick Fetish, a warm brown frost on the dark side of caramel. I’ve been on brown lipstick kick recently, ever since RGR swatched her favorites for the public good. But I haven’t always known how to wear them– hence this elaborate conceit with the BDSM and the Greco-Roman myth.

I get a retro vibe from Fetish, which is mostly charming, but also not what I wanted here; I was going for something a little more atermporal, or transtemporal– mythic. So I added a dot of OCC Fragmented to the center of my mouth, to bring this ’90s throwback out of its very particular cultural moment.

I wore Fetish with NARS Orgasm— the nomenclature was just too tantalizingly thematic. But because Orgasm is such a popular blush, verging on cliche, I paired it with NARS Copacabana— it’s my favorite source of instant otherworldliness, fit for Lady of Lorien looks as well as the more chthonic stuff. I really overloaded it on my cheekbones, and also smudged it down the bridge of my nose, all the way to the tip. Usually I avoid highlighting my T-zone, since it tends to oiliness. But I wanted harsh features, with a prominent nose– almost like the beak of carrion fowl.

I also sculpted out some more forbidding cheekbones, using L’Oreal Cocoa. It’s great as a poor man’s contour powder– cool-toned like true shadow, easy to blend, and reasonably affordable for $10 a pop.

My eyes are (predictably) in flame colors, for the fires of Tartarus.. (I feel like the Underworld being a scorching place, like Dante’s medieval Hell, is maybe a Roman thing? That in the Greek tradition, it’s just kind of damp and cold and meh? Pretty sure there are fires in Virgil when Aeneas is hanging around, but I’m not a expert on Latin poetry. Or any Latin. Or any poetry.) Swiping Sugarpill Love+ in the outer corners of my eyes gave them a kind of recessed look, which I liked– it almost mimics dramatic firelight.

Doesn't my illuminator look intense? NARS Copacabana ftw.

Doesn’t my illuminator look intense? NARS Copacabana ftw.

Leave a Reply

