Mario Badescu Haul & Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs and Rosewater Mini-Review

My shipment from Mario Badescu just got here, and I wanted to share!

all

I’ve historically been pretty blasé about skincare– I wash my face with a haphazard grocery-store swirl of essential oils (castor, grapeseed, drop of tea tree). And the only sunscreen on my “vanity” comes in Sephora sample packs. But Arabelle’s experiments in robot skincare have been inspiring me to ramp up my efforts on that front. And spend even more money on things other than those grad school staples, ramen and books. (I only eat ramen so I can buy lip tars and second-hand Prada– I promise my white-collar labor isn’t been exploited to that extent.)

As part of a special promotion (which, obviously, enticed me to buy), Mario Badescu threw in a free 1 oz travel size of their Facial Spray with Aloe, Herbs and Rosewater. I’ve actually tried this before– I used it to set my makeup in a previous post, and I like to alternate it with the Urban Decay sprays based on my mood. MB’s offering doesn’t have all of UD’s bells and whistles– no pretensions to making your makeup last all night. But it is significantly cheaper– $7 for 4 oz as opposed to $30 for the same volume of an Urban Decay Spray. (It even costs less per ounce than Evian’s Mineral Water Facial Spray, which is literally drinking water in a spray bottle. Can someone explain that to me? #capitalism)

Honestly, I find MB’s stuff just as effective as Urban Decay’s Chill spray, with all its “cooling time-release” bluster. Both of them refresh, hydrate, and lend a slight dewiness to freshly powdered skin.

Mario Badescu’s facial spray smells strongly of rosewater, which I personally like– it’s an edible rose, like Turkish delight, not a fusty, grandmotherly scent. And it dissipates pretty quickly after you spray. 

Availability: $7 for a small size from Ulta or Amazon (as an add-on item); $7 for a small size or $12 for a full size from Mario Badescu, Nordstrom or BeautyBay.com. They’ve also been known to appear on HauteLook and Gilt.

Quantity: 4 oz for a small size or 8 oz for a full size

This is the cute little travel size bottle.

This is the cute little travel size bottle. I don’t think you can actually buy this, at least not on their website?

You can buy Mario Badescu at Ulta, Nordstrom, and BeautyBay.com, but I prefer to go through their website— you get three free samples with every order, and you can choose from almost any of the magic potions they have in stock. It’s not the most inviting interface you’ll find in the world of e-commerce, especially since Mario Badescu’s look is generally very clean (albeit in an unpretentious way– they use serif fonts, none of that slick, hypermodern Helvetica stuff.) You’re greeted with an old-school tabular layout, and a little gray-framed pop-up that gives me Netscape flashbacks, circa 1998. I also had some trouble getting the checkout to work on Safari. So I go through Firefox (which I mostly keep around to read Chinese with a dictionary pop-up). But I feel petty whining about aesthetics when the customer service is so good– I got a sample of something that retails for $45!

This time I ordered the Drying Cream and the Special Healing Powder, both marketed towards finicky, breakout-burdened skin. (My acne’s been acting up lately– you may have noticed the giant forehead zit in my face pics, haphazardly concealed.) For my three samples, I got the Orange Tonic Mask and the Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin in little jars, and the Peptide Renewal Serum in an nonresealable bag. I do love the fact that some of the samples came in jars– totally going to repurpose them for lip tar remixes after the stuff is used up.

drying cream

Drying Cream, an “effective treatment to dry up small under the surface bumps and pimples”.

 

Special Healing Powder: "Sulfur based powder that absorbs excess oil and reduces redness and irritation caused by breakouts."

Special Healing Powder: “Sulfur based powder that absorbs excess oil and reduces redness and irritation caused by breakouts.”

 

My free samples: Orange Tonic Mask, Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin, and Peptide Renewal Serum.

My free samples: Orange Tonic Mask, Control Moisturizer for Oily Skin, and Peptide Renewal Serum.

Leave a Reply

