Review, Swatches & Dupes: Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Queer Theory, Less Than Three, Winter Romance, Nemesis & Sexy Nerd

(Promise I only omit Oxford commas in blog titles.)

I’m wearing campfire colors on my lids today, and also an aggressively red jumpsuit– basically I feel like Melisandre, transplanted into a jumpsuit age. It’s a perfect day to do some indie swatches! So I’ve got five Lip Lustres from Fyrinnae here– they’re cruelty-free, and “dedicated to serving customers of any gender and any skin tone”. I’ve just starting dipping my toes into the world of indie beauty, but so far they’re one of my favorites– a philosophy of inclusion, an aesthetic of otherworldliness, and a willingness to sell me pressed eyeshadows. (Seriously, I love indie makeup, but the loose powders everyone’s hawking kind of terrify me. Yayy, pressed shadows! I digress.)

Lip Lustres are liquid lipsticks– Fyrinnae sells them as “leaving rich color on your lips but no goopy tackiness”. Seems accurate enough to me. Based on my understanding, there are two kinds of liquid lipsticks. There’s the long-wearing, budge-proof, matte-as-anything kind you’d have to claw at to remove even after an evening of Big Macs or makeouts or whatever (e.g. Make Up For Ever Aqua Rouge or Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick.) And then there are, basically, richly pigmented lip glosses that leave you with a lot of color and a bit of shine, that wouldn’t survive a particularly indulgent night (e.g. Illamasqua Intense Lipgloss). Lip Lustres are kind of poised in between them.

Availability: $7 for a full size or $2 for a trial size at Fyrinnae

Quantity: 8 mL for a full size or 1.5 mL for a trial size

I got all five of mine in the trial size, and they came with a doe-foot applicator just like the full size is supposed to. Now, onto the swatches!

Queer Theory in the tube.

Queer Theory in the tube.

Queer theory lip swatch.

Queer Theory lip swatch.

Queer Theory

… And Queer Theory on my face.

Queer Theory comparisons and dupes. The top row (L-R): Queer Theory, OCC Queen, OCC Anime, Too Faced Coral Fire, MAC Crosswires, Maybelline Coral Crush, MAC Lady Danger. The bottom row is just Queer Theory, for comparison.

Queer Theory comparisons and dupes. The top row (L-R): Queer Theory, OCC Queen, OCC Anime, Too Faced Coral Fire, MAC Crosswires, Maybelline Coral Crush, MAC Lady Danger. The bottom row is just Queer Theory, for comparison.

Queer Theory is meant to be a “very bright warm pink without shimmer”, but it translates into a coral on my skin. It actually dries pretty matte and doesn’t transfer overmuch, without being too drying on the lips. It’s my favorite out of the five shades I got– it had the smoothest, most even application, no patchiness whatsoever. It is fairly dupable, though. Out of all the pink-coral-orange-ish tequila sunrise shades I had in my stash, I couldn’t find any exact matches, but there were a lot of sibling shades. OCC Queen is darker, and my three nearly identical traditional corals– Too Faced Coral Fire, MAC Crosswires, and Maybelline Coral Crush (I really have to stop buying these) were a shade lighter and slightly less pink.

Less Than Three in the tube.

Less Than Three in the tube.

Less Than Three lip swatch.

Less Than Three lip swatch.

Less Than Three on me.

Less Than Three on me.

Less Than Three dupes and comparisons. Top Row (L-R): Less Than Three, OCC Hoochie, Urban Decay Obsessed. Bottom row is just Less Than Three.

Less Than Three dupes and comparisons. Top Row (L-R): Less Than Three, OCC Hoochie, Urban Decay Obsessed. Bottom row is just Less Than Three.

Less Than Three is a “bright lilac-pink matte”, a sort of (pre-2014?) Nicki Minaj lavender. I’d call it a closer relative to purple than pink, really. I found it a little harder to work with than Queer Theory, in terms of getting an even application– took me a couple of layers. This is one of the more unique shades in my collection-. It reminded me of OCC Hoochie on first sight, but that’s a lot darker. And Urban Decay Obsessed is really similar in luminosity, but it’s also way pinker. I was afraid it wouldn’t work with my coloring, yellow undertones and all, but I actually really like it on me! It’s flattering without being pedestrian.

Winter Romance in the tube.

Winter Romance in the tube.

Winter Romance lip swatch. It's a little browner than this IRL.

Winter Romance lip swatch. It’s a little browner than this IRL.

Winter Romance on my face.

Winter Romance on my face.

Winter Romance comparisons and dupes. Top row (L-R): Winter Romance, MAC Dare You, Urban Decay Shame, Fierce Magenta Cosmoberry. Bottom row is just Winter Romance.

Winter Romance comparisons and dupes. Top row (L-R): Winter Romance, MAC Dare You, Urban Decay Shame, Fierce Magenta CosmoBerry. Bottom row is just Winter Romance.

Here we’ve got Winter Romance, a “rich, velvety dark red”. It pulls a little berry and a little brown on me, and the result’s more bordeaux than brick. I’d call it a polite sort of vamp– a comfortable dark red option for people who don’t self-identify as the sort of people who wear colors described as “vamps”. It does apply slightly patchily on me, but not enough to be termed a problem shade. Out of the five Lip Lustres I got, this one is the most “me” and will probably see the most wear. I’m sure you can find lots of similar colors on the market, though. MAC Dare You is brighter, without the hint of berry, while Urban Decay Shame is more berry, without the brown. Fierce Magenta CosmoBerry is very similar, I think, but that one’s a conventional gloss– more shinier and vulnerable to transfer. (Review forthcoming!) Christine from Temptalia has reviewed Winter Romance before, so she’ll have more dupes for you.

Nemesis in the tube.

Nemesis in the tube.

Nemesis lip swatch.

Nemesis lip swatch.

Nemesis on my face. I tried to slap on an appropriate expression for a goddess of vengeance.

Nemesis on my face. I tried to slap on an appropriate expression for a goddess of vengeance.

Nemesis dupes and comparisons. Top row (L-R): Nemesis, MAC Heroine, MAC Cyber. Bottom row is just Nemesis.

Nemesis dupes and comparisons. Top row (L-R): Nemesis, MAC Heroine, MAC Cyber. Bottom row is just Nemesis.

Nemesis is a “rich medium purple” with a “slightly shimmery finish”. i think the shimmer just looks like a glossiness– you can’t really detect individual particulates of shine. I found that this one required several layers to get even (pun not intended, but then I ran with it) and opaque, but the color’s unique enough I’m inclined to work for it. It also leaves behind a gorgeous red grape/magenta stain, like many purples. The more of it you apply, the cooler and closer to indigo it looks. I did find this pretty undupeable, but that might just reflect poorly on my paltry stash of purples. MAC Heroine is way brighter and pinker, and Cyber is darker, with reddish undertones.

Sexy nerd in the tube.

Sexy Nerd in the tube.

Sexy Nerd lip swatch.

Sexy Nerd lip swatch.

Sexy Nerd on my face. I look like I'm about to steal your thesis project or something.

Sexy Nerd on my face. I look like I’m about to steal your thesis project or something.

Sexy Nerd comparisons and dupes. Top row (L-R): Sexy Nerd, Fierce Magenta Romance, MAC Girl About Town.

Sexy Nerd comparisons and dupes. Top row (L-R): Sexy Nerd, Fierce Magenta Romance, MAC Girl About Town.

Finally, we’ve got Sexy Nerd. It’s unclear to me why it’s so named– I can’t help but think of future faculty couple Cosima and Delphine from my favorite new sci-fi series Orphan Black, but I can’t really picture either of those ladies wearing this pink. Fyrinnae calls it a “bright magenta” with “golden shimmer and highlight”. It’s very shimmery. And it reads as more of a warm pink than a magenta to me. Very pretty, wearable, and fun– not a shade with a lot of gravitas. I had some trouble finding viable dupes. Fierce Magenta Romance (review forthcoming!) is warmer, peachier, even though it has the same insistent gold shimmer. MAC Girl About Town is darker and a truer, Barbieish pink.

In sum, I’m happy with all of these. Queer Theory, my favorite, is gorgeous, if not particularly unique, and Nemesis and Less Than Three are both pretty singular colors. I definitely want to get more Lip Lustres from Fyrinnae.

Eyeshadows from the Sleek Sunset palette.

Eyeshadows from the Sleek Sunset palette.

Finally, have a random closeup of my eye makeup! These are all shadows from the Sleek MakeUP I-Divine Palette in Sunset. I decided I had to have it after I saw it reviewed on Temptalia!

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Sleek I-Divine Palette in Sunset, Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes in 23L, , Lorac PRO Metallic Cream Eyeliner in Black Ruby (on sale now for $8!), Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, Benefit Powderflage, NARS Illuminator in Copacabana, Benefit Posietint, Guerlain Météorites Powder for the Face in Medium

3 thoughts on “Review, Swatches & Dupes: Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Queer Theory, Less Than Three, Winter Romance, Nemesis & Sexy Nerd

  1. Pingback: Fierce Magenta Review, Swatches & Dupes: Romance, Wild Plum, CosmoBerry, Rave & Medusa | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  3. Pingback: Review, Swatches & Dupes: Nyx Wicked Lippies in Power, Wrath, Mischievous, Trickery, Sinful, Betrayal, and Cold Hearted | Through a Gloss, Darkly

Leave a Reply

