FOTD: Aegean Eyes

Eye makeup

Eyes: Too Faced Shadow Insurance Candelight, Too Faced Brow Envy, Benefit High Brow Glow, Sugarpill Pressed Eyeshadow in Diamond Eyes, Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Mushroom and Evidence, Nyx Jumbo Eye Pencil in MilkNyx Eye Pencil in Azure, Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes in 23L, Buxom Lash Mascara

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, CoverGirl and Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer, Benefit Powderflage, Stila All Over Shimmer Liquid Luminizer in Rose GoldBecca Beach Tint Shimmer Soufflé in Papaya/Topaz, Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand (read my review here!), Mario Badescu Facial Spray

Lips: Nyx Extra Creamy Round Lipstick in Terra Cotta

fullface
straighton

lipstick 
closeup

Here’s a quick FOTD inspired by vaguely Aegean colorways– little white houses, red tile roofs, blue of sea and sky, etc.

I’ve historically had a lot of trouble getting eye looks to work on my mostly-monolids. Conventional makeupping wisdom always has you applying shadows to the “crease”. And while I actually kind of have one on my right eye, my left is emphatically crease-free. It’s not much to work wrt creating eye looks.

Anyway, I’ve since discovered a miraculously helpful Asian eyeshadow tutorial from Bun Bun Makeup Tips. It’s completely revolutionized how I apply my eye makeup. Now, instead of timidly swiping a single sheer shade all over the lid, I apply a darker shadow for definition to what Bun Bun refers to as the “contour area”– that’s the depression above the lid, right under the bony ridge of the eye socket. If you’ve been having #monolidproblems, go read her tutorial now!

This look features Mushroom— a warm gray-taupe shimmer– in the contour area, and the sheer opalescent white Diamond Eyes brushed all over the lid. Evidence, a rather sheer navy blue, has been blended in the outer half of the lid, right under Mushroom. There’s Milk, a matte white, on the waterline, and the metallic cerulean Azure lining the outer corners. I also swiped a little 23L, a pale rose gold liner, on the inner half of the lid (where I didn’t apply Evidence).

Sorry for the slightly tortured explanation! The face is a lot simpler. I applied a couple dots of sunny Rose Gold on my cheekbones, cupid’s bow, and chin. Usually I go for paler, cooler-toned highlighters for an eerier, more ethereal look. But I wanted something suggestive of beachside vacations and #leisure. ( I’m actually totally indifferent to beaches in meatspace. Sand, heat, scantily clad strangers– meh.) I also smudged on some Papaya/Topaz around the hollows of my cheeks– not the apples, where you’d usually apply your blush, but the traditional placement for contour powders. It’s a shimmery burnt orange, highly pigmented– kind of a hybrid bronzer/blush.

Leave a Reply

