Review: Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand

I got over my horror of loose, floury substances long enough to try out Juice Beauty’s Refining Finishing Powder. According to Juice Beauty’s website, it’s supposed to “refine and provides a beautiful matte coverage while feeding your skin with antioxidants” while the “organic aloe powder prevents any powder settling into creases”, It’s available in three colors, in order of ascending darkness: Ivory, Sand, and Tan. I went for the happy medium, after some wrestling with indecision. See, according to my narrative of self, I’m totally paperwhite– maybe because that’s how I show up in flash photography. I forget that IRL lighting conditions are A Thing.

Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder

Price and Availability: $22 from Juice Beauty, Ulta, Beauty.com, and DermStore 

Quantity: 0.28 oz. (For comparison, Tarte’s Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder goes for $32 for 0.32 oz.)

powder2

Anyway, I’m glad I went for Sand, because it’s already sufficiently pale. It blends out nicely enough on my skin, doesn’t make me look like I’m wearing pre-Industrial lead powder or anything. The sheerness lends it a little versatility, by the standards of a three-shade range. But I feel like the Refining Finishing Powder is still best-suited to lighter skin tones– even Tan, the deepest shade, looks like a conventional medium-light.

withbrush

If you can find a shade that sheers out accommodatingly for you, I found the texture soft and finely milled. I swirled it on with a Sedona Lace Flat Top Kabuki Brush, and it matted down a T-zone shiny from BB cream.

The brush did swirl up dust all over my lapel. But that’s very likely user error. I’d recommend upending the packaging to gently deposit some on the cap, and then swirling your brush inside the cap, to minimize fallout. I emphatically did not do that the first time– my bad.

The Refining Finishing Powder is incredibly comfortable to wear– light, and smooth to the touch. But I did find it looked a little caked on me– it was obvious I was wearing something of the powder species– until I spritzed on some of Urban Decay’s Chill Makeup Setting Spray.

The powder was also lightly scented with sweet mint– less dentist’s office, more after-dinner treat. I found it pretty unobtrusive, and you definitely can’t smell it after the stuff is on your face.

My makeup before the Refining Finishing Powder

Pre-powder. You can see some normatively undesirable shine around the nose and forehead. Also, my eyes are very red because of allergies. MLISH.

My makeup after applying the Refining Finishing Powder

Post-powder. Check out that fallout on my lapel! Don’t worry, I brushed it off, and my blazer’s fine.

Full Face:

Eyes: Too Faced Brow Envy, Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Waterproof Mascara, Tarina Tarintino Eye Dream Hyperliner in Broken Doll, Urban Decay Eyeshadows in Polyester Bride,  Gunmetal, Strip, and Creep.

Face: Skin79 Oriental Gold BB Cream Plus, Make Up For Ever 5 Camouflage Cream Palette in No.2, Stila Convertible Color in Sweet Pea

Lips: NARS lipstick in Schiap

4 thoughts on “Review: Juice Beauty Refining Finishing Powder in Sand

  1. Pingback: Fierce Magenta Redux, or DIY Liquid-to-Matte: Romance, Wild Plum, CosmoBerry & Rave | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  2. Pingback: Review: Fyrinnae Powder Blush in Royalty | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  3. Pingback: Review & Swatches: Fyrinnae Pressed Eyeshadow in Unicorn, Rapunzel Had Extensions & Steampunk | Through a Gloss, Darkly

  4. Pingback: Review, Swatches & Dupes: Darling Girl Cosmetics Inner Glow Blush in Living Dead Gurl | Through a Gloss, Darkly

Leave a Reply

